

Contact
Kristin Berrier, Director of Marketing + Communications
Virginia Restaurant, Lodging & Travel Association
marketing@vrlta.org | 804.310.5433

## 2019 VRLTA Ordinary Awards Winners Announced

VRLTA Announces 17 Honorees at 4th Annual Dinner at The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa | Short Pump

Richmond, Va. – October 11, 2019 - The Virginia Restaurant, Lodging & Travel Association (VRLTA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 VRLTA Ordinary Awards. Recipients were honored at a special dinner at The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa | Short Pump on October 10, 2019 in Richmond, Virginia. The winners were announced in front of an audience of more than 240 hospitality and travel industry peers and leaders from across the state.

This was VRLTA's fourth consecutive year hosting the Ordinary Awards, which were sponsored by Kings Dominion, Virginia Business, UnitedHealth Group, E&J Gallo Winery, Virginia Lottery, Visit Fairfax, Tablee, and Queen of Virginia Skill & Entertainment.

During the event, VRLTA honored Hu Odom, of Golden Corral / Both, Inc., with the *Golden Pineapple Lifetime Achievement Award* for both his work in the industry and his philanthropy. Odom recently gifted \$1.1 million to Norfolk Public Schools, to develop a ProStart culinary program, and \$1.0 million to Tidewater Community College, to support their Hospitality and Culinary Management program.

The following individuals and businesses were selected as winners from the more than 140 nominees:

Mark Beyer, Saltine Norfolk at Hilton Norfolk The Main

Charlie Buser Award for Attraction Employee of the Year

Colin Romanick, Pamplin Historical Park

Hotel Employee of the Year

Bartender of the Year

Denise Walters, Four Points by Sheraton Richmond

Restaurant Employee of the Year

Lily Wilson, Glory Days Grill of Reston

Chef of the Year

Frank Estremera, The National Conference Center

Supplier of the Year

Tablee

Rising Pineapple Award for Hospitality & Tourism Student of the Year

Amanda Hall, Virginia Tech

Brewery of the Year

Mustang Sally Brewing Company, Chantilly

Distillery of the Year

A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Fredericksburg

Winery of the Year

Paradise Springs Winery, Clifton

Hotelier of the Year

Scott Jones, Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Jim Ricketts Award for DMO/CVB Employee of the Year

Lois Tokarz, Smithfield & Isle of Wight Tourism

Jim Wordsworth Award for Restaurateur of the Year

Shaena Muldoon, The Palisades Restaurant

Attraction of the Year

The Arc of Loudoun's Shocktober, Leesburg

Restaurant of the Year

The Water Dog, Lynchburg

Hotel of the Year

The National Conference Center, Leesburg

"Each year, Ordinary Awards winners represent all the extraordinary people and companies that make up Virginia's hospitality and tourism industry, and this year, our record number of nominations raised the bar even higher," said Eric Terry, President of VRLTA. "On behalf of the Association, our staff, and board, we applaud the efforts of our nominees, finalists, and winners for the exemplary work they have done and will continue to do."

For more information about VRLTA's Ordinary Awards, visit Ordinary Awards.com or VRLTA.org.

About the Virginia Restaurant, Lodging & Travel Association (VRLTA)

The Virginia Restaurant, Lodging & Travel Association is the only unified voice for the restaurant, lodging, travel and hospitality suppliers associations. VRLTA creates value for members by promoting the legislative interests of the industry, networking, educational opportunities, and protecting free enterprise. Inquiries about membership and VRLTA services should be directed to VRLTA at (804) 288-3065 or VRLTA.org.