Join VRLTA | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: Press Releases + Statements

VHTA Announces the Election of New Chairman, 11 New Members to the Board of Directors

Wednesday, April 29, 2015  
Share |


Debbie Donehey, VHTA Chairman of the Board

Richmond, Va. – April 29, 2015 – The Virginia Hospitality & Travel Association (VHTA) announced at the association’s Annual Membership Meeting, held at Massanutten Resort from April 22 to 24, the election of a new Chairman of the Board and 11 other members to its Board of Directors.


Debbie Donehey, owner of Griffin Tavern & Restaurant in Flint Hill, Virginia, was elected Chairman of the Board. Donehey, with husband Jim, opened the tavern in May 2003 and has been a member of the association since the restaurant’s opening. She is taking over the position from former-Chairman Owen Matthews, director of finance at Kings Dominion, who served in the role for two years.

The following positions were also newly elected to the Board of Directors during the Annual Membership Meeting:

Chairman of the Board – Debbie Donehey – Griffin Tavern & Restaurant
Vice Chairman of the Board – Randy Thompson – Vista Graphics
Secretary – Brad Capps – The Breakers Resort
Treasurer – Ed Denton – Commonwealth Lodging

Elected Directors
Vinay Patel – Fairbrook Hotels – representing Northern Virginia
Kimberly Christner – Cornerstone Hospitality – representing Central-Southern Virginia
Bill Gambrell – Tautog’s – representing Tidewater-Hampton Roads

Directors at Large
Virginia Hospitality Suppliers Association – Jeremy Gill – Comcast Business
Virginia Hotel & Lodging Association – Robert Reed – SMI Hotel Group
Virginia Restaurant Association – Neil Burton – Strangeways Brewing
Virginia Travel Association – Kurt Burkhart – Charlottesville CVB
Virginia Travel Association – Sarah Elson-Staniunas – Massanutten Resort

“These individuals bring great industry knowledge and experience to the existing Board of Directors,” said Eric Terry, president of VHTA. “I look forward to working with them as we continue to grow the association.”

The VHTA Board of Directors, elected from the existing member base, have shown exemplary service in their industry and to VHTA and its members.

Download the full release.

View the full slate of directors & component officers.



News Coverage

May 7, 2015 Rappahannock News Griffin’s Donehey elected chair of VHTA board
May 14, 2015 Charlottesville Business Journal CBJ: Personnel
May 16, 2015 Richmond Bizsense The Herd: New hires, promotions and departures for May 26, 2015

2018 VRLTA Partners